Twisty Roses

I was given the task of doing some window dressing for my local Oxfam shop, and had to come up with something fresh and spring-themed, using only the limited resources within the shop.  Spring for me is about flowers and pastel hues.   I hit on the idea of using some of our merchandise in a creative way to mimic flowers.   I then thought of making flowers out of the scarves on sale in the shop.

I struck gold with this method by Violet Le Beaux, who provides a clear step-by-step tutorial on how to tie a silk scarf rose.   It works best with smaller scarves and with thinner fabric, such as silk, and looks great when you use a scarf in block colours or two or three tones of colour like my purple, pink and grey scarf below.   For the shop display I used different shades of pink.   Try it, it’s simple but looks lovely!

twisty rose

 

Leave a Reply

