Sixties Sweetheart

Yet another hectic few days!  It feels like an age since I posted last, even though it was only six days ago.  I guess six days in the blogging world is the equivalent of six years in real time!  I have been itching to write about this particular vintage find.

A few weeks ago I bought two lovely pieces of clothing from vintage store Raggie Doll Vintage on Etsy.com.  The first piece can be found on my post Vintage Folk.  This second piece is a 1960s floral pink polyester shirtdress.

This is such a hopelessly romantic dress, with its pastel colours, abstract daisy print, flouncy fabric and dainty blue flower buttons.  Perfect for a country stroll on a spring day and having afternoon tea with the ladies!  It is a little big for me at the waist, so I’ve used a thin belt to cinch it in and provide definition.

DSC_0014

I’ve accessorised it in two slightly different ways.

On a recent trip to the V&A, I wore this dress with a delicate silk haze wool knitted top over it, which had the added bonus of holding the top half of the dress in and giving it more shape.  The fuchsia top is a one-of-a-kind made by my talented mother.  With a long green coat and a leather satchel to channel my inner geek and silver shoes for a bit of retro space age, I was ready for some serious cultural immersion.

In my second variation, I’ve used a coral pink heart belt for the waist, and paired these with low-heeled leather Mary-Janes and sugar-sweet gold heart jewellery.

In between all these recent thunderstorms, I’m hoping for some warm spring days to wear this sweet dress!

One thought on “Sixties Sweetheart

Leave a Reply

